Office of Student Assessment (OSA)

Assessment at Range

Range Student Assessment Policy

The Range Student Assessment Policy (RSAP) is a district policy that states what assessments are required for students in the district. The RSAP includes:


The Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) requires the corporation to test all students in English Language Arts (ELA) and Mathematics in grades 3-8 and once in high school. ESSA also requires students to be assessed in Science once in the grades spans 3-6, 7-9, and 10-12. Student performance on these assessments is reported and used for accountability purposes.

Classroom Assessments

Students will have formative, summative, and other assessments in the classroom. Questions regarding a teacher's classroom assessment should be addressed to them and not our office.

  • Formative - Assessments that take place during a chapter, unit, or topic to check for understanding

  • Summative - Assessments that take place at the end of a chapter, unit, topic, and course to check for achievement

Other Assessments